RSS Feed

That most mysterious Land of Nod.

I’ve been having lots of dreams recently. All of them really vivid and so life like that I’m actually surprised when I wake up that it wasn’t real.

A few days ago I half woke up to thank my (very bewildered) boyfriend for buying me a slush puppy from Hobbycraft. I had just been about to drink the delicious looking thing (more like a Simpsons Squishy than a SP) when I woke up. You know those dreams when you’re reaching for the glass by the bed only to wake up thirsty to find a distinct lack of fluids in the area? It was a bit like that! Of course Steve and I then had a conversation about how Hobbycraft don’t sell drinks (something to look into?!) to which I indignantly replied ‘in my dream they do’ and to his amusement fell straight back to sleep. You can never say life with me isn’t fun!

This got me to wondering though, what are dreams? Isn’t it weird that our subconscious can take over so strongly, and yet there’s no exact explanation as to why? Noone really knows for certain why we dream, or if they have meanings or purpose. Yet it is something nearly all of us do. Further to that there’s no rhyme or reason as to why some are memorable and some are not, or why some people recall them regularly while some are blissfully (or not?) unaware, claiming they ‘never even have dreams’ (can this be true?)!

This morning  I had one of those odd (perhaps the most odd) kind of dreams where I knew for certain I was asleep. It was around 3am in dreamland and a lightbulb went on to say that the alarm had not been set for the morning. Deciding to listen to the devil on my shoulder I realised that if the alarm did not go off Steve and I would probably over sleep, which meant more sleep and possibly (depending on how late we woke) a day off work! But somewhere I knew that it was actually closer to 6am and the alarm very much was set, meaning this senario was never going to come true (and shouldn’t come true unless it was a genuine accident right?). I’m not even sure this makes sense to people outside of the dreamland of me, but even asleep/awake as I was I remember considering how bizarre it was that I was aware I was asleep! As if my conscious was watching my subconscious with an ‘I’ve got my eye on you’ expression on its face.

So, dreams. What are they? An insight into our most inner thoughts and desires? The ID and the Superego battling it out while the Ego slumbers? Who knows! Maybe I should keep a dream journal in case the next Harry Potter is lurking in the shadows of my subconscious…now there’s a plan!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

Leave a Reply

