RSS Feed

Write about your earliest memory…

Posted on

I always wonder how people know what their ‘earliest memory’ is. I really struggle to put my childhood memories in any kind of order, and mostly rely on those older than me to make sense of the blurry images and incorrect conclusions my young brain drew. I also think I have a few ‘false memories’; moments I remember through home movies, photographs or from the stories others have told. Have you ever experienced this? There’s a really interesting article on it here for those who want to know more.

Considering all this, it’s seems a very strange coincidence that I decided on my ‘earliest memory’ only this afternoon; prior to opening my email and seeing the topic for today!

When I was younger I had a really vivid memories of holding a tarantula. (You should know, I’m a typical girl and am not massively fond of 8 legged things, so this is a rather big thing for me! I think that’s why the memory was always so strong.) The weird thing with this one is, nobody ever explained it. Unlike with other memories where a story of the day, or a wider description of the places and faces was offered to add context, this one was never really commented on. I didn’t discover the true story behind this memory until I was much older, around 15 or 16. It wasn’t a great story, not one I am willing to share. In fact it was an explantion that has made me feel guilty ever since for the number of times I mentioned the incident at all, and especially those I mentioned it to. One of those times when childhood innocence indirectly causes hurt. For that I will always be sorry.

Earlier today, during a pretty unrelated conversation, this memory popped into my head for the first time in ages. For some reason something clicked today which made me realise how old I must have been. I was only 2! That’s pretty little!! From what I can deduce this is the youngest I have ever been in any stories I have told others from my own memory, so…this must be my earliest one! How strange then that this topic should come up today. I do enjoy a good coincidence, but that’s a little spooky!

Do you know what your earliest memory is? How did you work it out?

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

5 responses »

  1. OK love your posts a day! Now – what is the golden reason for not being able to do hard impact exercise???????…….

    Reply
    • Oesophageal scar tissue from an old tear which becomes agitated when bounced about…tis annoying!!

      Glad you’re enjoying the posts ๐Ÿ™‚ good ol’ wordpress inspiration!

      Reply
  2. Hi Katie ๐Ÿ™‚

    My earliest memory was when my dad told me my little brother was born – I was only 2 1/2.
    I know it’s a memory because when I told my mum n
    & dad. a few years ago n described my room where I was told they were surprised as we moved out 6 months later & there isn’t any pictures of it!
    I agree with childhood memories merging – luckily fur ne I’ve got 3 markers every couple of years to help!
    Loving your blog x

    Reply
  3. I think it’s amazing how we can have false memories, I have a few myself. I think it really is just people telling you about it, you might have the memory in there, perhaps their telling you about it has just pulled the memory out of you.

    You feel guilty for bringing something up that you didn’t know would affect anyone? I’m sorry babe, but you have nothing to feel guilty about as far as I’m concerned.

    My earliest memory is looking up at the fish tank on top of the piano we used to have, I was only about 2, but I’m pretty sure that’s a genuine memory as it’s really random and basic. Also the view I had was of the tank being really high up because being 2, the piano would have been huge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

