RSS Feed

Think before you speak:

Posted on

I was always brought up to remember these words. THINK before you speak.

  • Is it True?
  • Is it Hurtful?
  • Is it Inspiring?
  • Is it Necessary?
  • Is it Kind?

I have to say I’m not sure I agree with a few of those. 

I don’t think conversation must always be necessary. Likewise it does not always need to inspire, or ‘improve the silence’. In fact some people would probably never talk again if they had to adhere to all the above!! Sometimes pointless chatter is nice, it creates a friendly atmosphere. Words lead to laughter, sharing stories leads to smiles. But these are words said when calm and happy. The trouble often starts when the mood turns sour.

Recently I feel I may have forgotten these wise words. It’s all too easy when those around you say exactly on their mind with no consideration for the consequences. You feel indignation for the unfairness of it. Why should some people be allowed to live, seemingly without remorse for the hurt they cause, while you strive to be the better person? So you stop. You start to let out the occasional snide remark, do not bother to say things in a tactful way which will create a positive outcome rather than an arguement. Evetually all barriers are down. Essentially you bring yourself down to the level of those who speak out of turn when upset, angry or tired.

This just isn’t good enough. I should be treating others how I wish to be treated.

Now I know everyone is not like me. I have a tendancy to not only remember negative words, but play them over and over again in my head. This can be especially horrid when linked to an event, time or song. I’d far rather songs on the radio remind me of happy times thank you very much.

Well, wouldn’t we all?

Maybe we all could. If we were a little nicer to each other. We must all remember, words once said cannot be taken back. They cannot be unsaid and may never be forgotten. Do not speak when angry…walk away till you are calm. Do not retaliate if someone is speaking out in anger, they are probably hurting too. You hope that eventually bad feeling will subside and you’ll go back to being friends, to me this says there is no point in holding a grudge (if the grudge will not budge then at least try and keep it to yourself!). Why maintain a bad atmosphere? You’re going to be friends eventually so why not forgive and forget quickly and move on! Do not enter every situation expecting the worst (though be prepared you may be disappointed a lot) and don’t always be ready for a fight.

Maybe if we all learned to THINK before we spoke, especially in a negative way, everything would be a little more positive. If we could also learn to forgive those who slip up then even better.

Let’s give it a go hey?

 

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

3 responses »

  1. I go over and over the negative stuff I say (rather than have said to/about me) and fall into paranoid pits of despair, convinced I’m about to lose a friend/my job/something else important because of it. It’s not worth the pain!

    Reply
    • Hey, if you can’t say anything nice 😛

      I learnt quite a long time ago that noone frets about this stuff as much as me. Maybe that’s why I stopped thinking about it so much. I fear I have gone too far the other way now though.

      Reply
  2. Oh god I agreed with Sarah – so often particularly at woork I say something and think gahhhh why did I just say that? This is a great blog..I am going to print it out and have it next to my desk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

