RSS Feed

Kindred spirits make me smile…thanks @ChristieMudie!

Sometimes we can all become a little insular. It can become habit to sit and feel like ‘noone understands’ what we’re going through, or who we are and that the whole world is out to get us. I think to feel like this, every now and again, is human nature, and obviously it is the nature of some to feel like it more than others. However, I firmly believe (and have said before) that we have a choice in these situations. The choice between crawling into a hole to feel sorry for ourselves until the world forces a decision, give up or move on, or sticking a smile on our faces, raising our chins in the air and fighting back with an attitude of ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’.

Today I read a blog which gave me hope that there are others out there who, like me, chose the latter path. Others who believe that “this challenge won’t destroy you but enhance you”. Recently I have felt that everyone (**there are a few exceptions, they are the ones I call to moan about the moaners and to whom I am forever thankful) prefers the negative to the positive. Don’t get me wrong, I agree that being negative is often the easy course, give in to the demons and ‘admit’ the world is shit, but it’s not as rewarding as being positive.

It’s always nice when you find a kindred spirit. Read something which makes you say ‘Yes! You’re right!!’ Especially when you’re feeling down, or having one of those insular days. I had one of these moments today, a blog which summed up so many of my thoughts that I wanted to share it with you. Christie Mudie’s… ‘Sorry you’re not a winner’ seems to say it all. Sometimes life is shit, sometimes’s it’s hard and you lose your way, you may even briefly lose yourself, but we must all remember “If you try to understand and remember that everything (and I mean everything) is easier to deal with when you are positive – that doesn’t mean you can’t cry, or be upset, or even moan like hell, what it does mean is that you embrace the ‘this too shall pass’ attitude” then maybe everything will get a little easier.

No matter what you’re going through, no matter how bleak it seems, remember to take a moment today and find a silver lining. Realise that to laugh at yourself and the situation will make you feel better than crying, give yourself a treat, find something to look forward to and above all have a good day!

 

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

One response »

  1. Christie Mudie

    Wow, this is awesome! Thanks for this. I’m glad you feel the same way as me – and I can honestly say it’s the first time I’ve been described as a kindred spirit but I love it. Thanks.
    Love your blog, keep up the cool work. x x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

