RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 12: Once upon a fairytale…

“If I’m honest I have to tell you I still read fairy-tales and I like them best of all.” Audrey Hepburn

Audrey, in this we are agreed.

I’m not sure if putting away childhood books and fantasies is something that everyone does except me or whether it’s something everyone apart from me lies about, but I adore fairy-tales. There’s something about childrens books and their ability to transport you to a land far away which is just wonderful. I don’t think I shall ever grow out of them.

By far my favourite story (as I may have mentioned before) has always been Alice in Wonderland. The story of a girl with an amazing imagination which takes her to a world so unlike her own that even she begins to miss the comfort normality has to offer. The story has been called a fine example of ‘literary nonsense’, sometimes I wonder if that is why I like it.

As a little girl I apparently would tell people my name was Alice. I had long blonde hair and longed for a blue dress like the one from the Disney movie. If I’m honest I still want that dress! I dressed up as Alice once for a birthday party at university, but it was the, um, grown up, version of the costume, not quite what I had in mind! Maybe I’ll get it right one day.

My mother was always reciting poetry and quotes from random things (from The Lion and Albert to Seven Little Girls) including The Complete Works of Lewis Carroll, resulting in me knowing poems such as the infamous Jabberwocky and The Walrus and the Carpenter off by heart. It would not be considered unusual for a member of my family to come out with ‘speak roughly to your little boy and beat him when he sneezes, he only does it to annoy because he knows it teases’ or some such nonsense, there’s always an occassion for a Carroll quote. Curiouser and curiouser, I know.

But then it’s not just the Disney and written version of the story which captures my imagination. Last year the Tim Burton movie ‘Alice in Wonderland’ was released on my birthday – O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay! What a day it was. I was so excited to go and see it with my friends and unlike others came out with shining eyes and a head full of new quotes. Burton took many elements of the story, made them darker and, well, more Burtonesque. This is one of the beauties of Alice, it’s so versitile! The story at it’s heart is about imagination, and where that can lead you, what more could a creative bunch want as a basis for a new movie, play or television show? It’s almost as if Carroll said ‘this is what I’ve come up with…off you go and play with it, that’s kind of the point!’

Well now I have 2 minutes until this blog is officially late, so I shall end it there. I hope, like Alice, that I never lose my muchness or that link to my inner child. I want to always be the girl who walks on walls, jumps in puddles and believes in as many as six impossible things before breakfast. Yes, I think that’s the kind of good advice I’ll take!

Care to read Fionas and Katys thoughts on this topic? Head over to the Miss Peg Daily and Blog of Sense and have a gander!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

6 responses »

  1. Wonderful. So very wonderful.

    Curiouser and curiouser is one of my favourite things to say. I join you in the wonders of that quote.

    It’s amazing how very different our blogs have become today, it makes me smile a lot really. You with your shoes and ships and sealing wax. Of cabbages and kings. And Katy with her declaration of love to the modern fairytale. And mine, well, that’s all there is to say on that. Anywhoo…I’ll always love that lizard with a ladder. When we went to France a few years ago a little lizard was running around and my mum was the one who compared it to Alice, but I smiled at the thought of it having a ladder hidden away somewhere.

    Reply
    • Haha that’s brilliant!! What we need…is a lizard, with a ladder!! Oo I want to watch it now! Tis a bit late now though, perhaps I shall watch it in the morning…I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date, no time to say goodbye “hello!” I’m late, I’m late, I’m late!!

      Reply
  2. It said ‘twitter blogathon you are now commenting’ my heart did a little flutter…but alas, no, it’s okay. I’ll go find a door too small for me and eat something to shrink me down.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Day 12 – Fairytales « twitterblogathon

  4. I still love fairytales. I think lots of people love stories of escape – there are so many adult fairytales being published these days, we can’t be the only ones. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

