RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 16 – Everybody dance now!

You know you were a 90’s kid if…

  1. Ya’ll ready for this?
  2. The word ‘Tragedy’ draws your hands to the side of your head
  3. You’re all about the Girl Power (so tell me what you want, what you really really want!)
  4. You still argue with your friends about whether ‘Blur’ or ‘Oasis’ were better
  5. You know all the moves to Macarena
  6. Oo ah, just a little bit, oo ah a little bit more
  7. Madonna is the Queen of Pop and Kylie the Princess.
  8. You knew about whisky drinks, vodka drinks, lager drinks and cider drinks before you’d ever tasted them.
  9. Ibiza rhymes with pizza.
  10. There ain’t no party like an S Club party

Oh I had SO much fun writing that list!! Could have quite easily gone off on a tangent about all the non musicy awesome things from the 90’s (Goosebumps, Care Bear share, Tamagotchis, the dial up tone, in West Philadelphia born and raised…., trolls, Sharky and George, Fun House, skorts, you couldn’t have a 50p without rubbing the Queens Nose, green and orange were definitely colours that went together, that’s How for now!) but that’s a blog for another day.

Today Fiona wants to know which one band or artist shaped our childhoods. Trouble is I don’t have one. I’ve never been the type of kid to obsess over something, I didn’t really follow the trends and to be honest there were more pictures from the centre pages of Girl Talk on my walls than of boy bands. Once I grew out of Girl Talk and Mizz I’d buy funny posters from the market and stick those up to make me smile. I think I might have had a Spice Girls poster at some point, but that’s about it.

There are, however, a few songs and albums I’ll always remember . The first single I ever bought (everyone remembers that!) was ‘Wonderwall’ by Oasis and the 2nd and 3rd were ‘When a Woman’ by Gabrielle (still one of my faves) and ‘It Feels So Good’ by Sonique (I bought them at the same time). Remember when we used to go out and buy singles? Seems so bizarre in this digital age! I loved Savage Gardens ‘Affirmation’ Album and ‘By The Way’ started my love for the Red Hot Chilli Peppers. They were the first band I went to see live with my friends (my first ever concert was with my grandparents when I was about 6, we went to see Gerry and the Pacemakers and Helen Shapiro…Walking Back To Happiness!). I always thought I wasn’t really ‘into’ music because I didn’t go crazy over N’Sync (I just had to google if that was the band which started Justin Timberlakes career, that’s how much I know about them!), 911 or Backstreet Boys (though ‘I Want It That Way’ is a tune!) like all my friends did. I didn’t have crushes on popstars and wasn’t *that* bothered when Take That split up. Since I’ve grown up though I’ve come to like my eclectic taste. I enjoy that leaving my laptop on shuffle can offer songs from the Rat Pack, Stereophonics, Christina Perri, Anastacia and probably a bit of Barenaked Ladies or Disney. Maybe I didn’t do the whole ‘I’ll DIE if I don’t see these people in concert’ thing, but I think musically speaking I grew up pretty well!

And if you don’t agree you can talk to the hand! NOT! 😛


Haven’t actually listened to this as my speakers have broken, so fingers crossed!

Note: Have just realised Miss Peg asked for the songs of our teenage years. I was a teenager in the noughties, not the nineties. Oops! Hope you enjoyed the blog anyway!! Make sure you pop over to the Miss Peg Daily and The Blog of Sense to read the other posts on this theme!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

12 responses »

  1. I LOVE THIS!! It is flipping awesome. How many amazing memories have you brought back?! So many bands and songs I’d forgotten about.

    To this day I still listen to the Savage Garden album, I love it. It’s one of my favourites when I just want something *easy* to listen to.

    Your iPod sounds a little like mine – such a wide,varied taste. I’ll have it on in the kitchen when I’m cleaning and it goes from Il Divo, to Anastacia (LOVE LOVE LOVE her, saw her in concert, utterly amazing) to the Lion King soundtrack, Bill Withers or ‘Best of the Classis 1, 2 and 3.

    Like you I’m not big into music but without a soundtrack my life is very dull!!

    Reply
    • Haha I’m so glad you liked it. I had lots of fun writing it I assure you, it’s put me in such a good mood 😀 Proof that it’s all feel good music I suppose, and that memory lane is often a fun road to travel. Nice to share the journey though!

      I first heard Affirmation from my brothers Metro when he was washing it one day. The next day I was copying the tape (old school!) and I have it on my iPod today!

      Gonna pop over to read your blog now, excited!

      Reply
      • Music holds such memories – like a smell or a sight – it has the strength to remind us of so many situations and the thoughts and feelings that go with them.

        Talking of Tragedy, I learnt last night *the* dance move was inspired by the Home Alone cover!!

    • No way!! Haha what a random fact!!!! You’re gonna have such a good time going to see them gonna learn all the dance moves? 5,6,7,8!

      Reply
      • Learn?! I think it’s just a case of remembering 😉

        Word perfect & step perfect. I can’t wait – it’s going to be awesome, Spice Girls were amazing and I expect this to be up there! However, I have 4 concerts between now and then so have to contain my excitement for a while!

      • Oo who else are you going to see? I almost typed relearn but I thought maybe I didn’t need to be that specific 😛

      • Oooh we’re on for a right gay parade. John Barrowman, Joe McElderry, Beverley Knight and Will Young. The shame my friends feel when they look at me at the moment is through the roof!!

  2. I second that, it’s like our childhood on a plate…that’s HOW for now. I sooo did that to my cat the other day (I know, I know). Sooo many awesome memories.

    Don’t worry about the ‘of our teens’ because I say teens but what I really mean is secondary school.

    Oh and pizza and Ibiza? Hahahaha.

    I too have a very eclectic musical taste, despite starting out with the Smurfs (my first single bought, yes, seriously) Robson and Jerome (their cover of The Drifters song Up on the Roof will always be a firm favourite) the Spice Girls and S Club 7 I did find myself drifting into lots of other things too. I just had to fight S Clubs corner due to immature friends. 😛

    PRETTY FLY FOR A JEDI…anyone else love Weird Al? Oh the teen years.

    Reply
    • That Robson & Jerome song was AWESOME!! Again, I am word perfect 😀

      Reply
      • Haha I’m so happy it made you guys smile. It was a brilliant theme Peg, just AWESOME!

        Also, never knew the Smurfs had released music, so that’s something!

    • Haha weirdly the title of this blog was almost Pretty Fly for a White Guy 🙂 I did have some Weird Al at one point, has disappeared with one of the many computer changes though I expect.

      Lol I was going to go with a Vengabus reference but I thought Ibiza and pizza worked better 😛 xxx

      Reply
  3. Pingback: What are memories if you’ve no one to share them with? | theblogofsense

Leave a Reply

