RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 29 – A bird may love a fish, signore, but where will they live?

If you were an animal, what would you be?

I’ve always dreaded this question…the whole wide animal kingdom and I only get to pick ONE?! Toughy! And anyway, how are we measuring this…do you mean the animal I would be, because of who I am, or the animal I aspire to be?

*some time passes*

Why on earth did I pick this theme?!

*more time goes by*

Right… let’s think about me. I would consider myself sociable yet independant, friendly, quite chirpy, very chatty, sarcastic, optimistic, fun loving and a traveller. I enjoy learning, exploring and trying new things; I’m also quite easily amused,  creative and a bit of a performer. More recently I have grown to appreciate the subtleties of silence, the importance of listening,  observing and taking the time to think before I speak. Maybe that’s part of growing up. Above all I am sensible, apparently I was born like it.

So, ringing any animal bells?! Nope, me either 😦

I think therefore, my answer would depend on who I was talking to. In an interview I would go for the ‘Owl’ side of me, the inquisitive learner, the perfectionist with a sarcastic sense of humour. I’d adore flying, being able to explore far and wide from a view point not usually seen, plus my eyes are already quite big so that works well! Someone said to me today I wasn’t old enough to be an owl, so I would be a baby owl! However my family nickname has always been ‘gran’, so perhaps looks are not always what they seem.

At a dinner party however, I would be a dolphin. Today someone said ‘You’d be a dolphin btw. 100%. I don’t know why… but you have dolphin-like features. Your face and your personality. Dolphin – right down to your little cheeks!’ A natural fun lover, who adores to play games, laugh and be amongst friends. I LOVE to tell stories and listening to them too, guess that’s the performance side sorted. I’ve heard it said dolphins are also fiercely protective of their families and pods, something I can relate to. Imagine the freedom which comes from gracefully (you’ll notice that wasn’t in my list of ‘about me’ adjectives) arching through waves, free to explore the open seas…it’s like something from the Little Mermaid. Wow! The dolphin in me is the cheerful entertainer, the show off and the vanity. I can also imagine a dolphin being called totally ott and melodramatic, haha, two more traits I’ll hold my hands up to! I think I should very much enjoy dolphin life.

Strangely enough, the answer to which animal I’d aspire to be would come down to these two options too. Seems bizarre also that I had two animals in mind, asked two people and they each chose one of the two, of all the animals in all the world!   I just don’t know which one I would pick and neither would be much help flipping a coin! Hmm. What do you guys think?

This post is part of the Twitter Blogathon.

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

5 responses »

  1. I love that you put pictures in too! We all know what the animals look like yet we both did it 😀 I definitely agree you should be a dolphin, it definitely works for you! Dolphins are good learners and inquisitive too. I also imagine you to be a brightly coloured animal, well loved by many and a friend to all… I can see the animal in front of me but couldn’t for the life of me tell you what it was. I think I shall name it a Rainbow Katyophin 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Day 29 – Let’s eat Katy (aka which animal are you?) « twitterblogathon

  3. How wonderful…owls are very beautiful creatures really, somewhat overshadowed by the more aggressive creatures I fear.

    In fact, you’ve chosen two of the world’s most beautiful creatures…I think that’s a good choice.

    A dolphin owl? WOW! :O

    (Apologies for the title of the twitterblogathon page.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

