RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 36 – He’s trying to lead you down ‘the path of righteousness’

I’m gonna lead you down the path that rocks!

That quote has been in my head since Katy set us this topic, oo nearly a week ago now! It’s from The Emperor’s New Groove 🙂 Remember how I told you that film is awesome? It just is!

I have severely struggled with this theme. We were asked to close our eyes and imagine walking down a pathway, then describe everything we see, hear, smell etc. Doesn’t sound hard right? And I suppose it isn’t hard as such, it’s just…

My path is boring!

I have tried closing my eyes on a Canary Island sunlounger, I tried when I’d had a few cocktails, on the plane home, in my room, at a friend’s house, at my desk and by the AC coastline today. Every time, I find myself on the same darned path and it’s just not cool or exciting or anything.

Picture the scene, you’re in woodland…perhaps more like a jungle from the size of the trees, but it’s more forest like than jungley really. The path ahead of you is brown and woody, made from years of footsteps following on from those before.  This earthy trail curves to the left up ahead which for some reason means my imagination focuses on what’s to the right of me. Huge trees, with buttress roots taller than I, all in a row; I couldn’t wrap my arms around one of these trees. The trunks are so tall you have to crane your neck to see the canopy, and they seem to go on forever, like some picturesque example of perspective in a drawing. Everything here is very peaceful, just the sounds of the forest; a light breeze through the woodland makes the leaves rustle. Even my footsteps seem quietened by the sheer vastness of the space I am in. Everything is tranquil, cool and safe. I kind of get the impression it is a hot day out there, beyond the shade of my woodland path. It feels like the kind of space one may come across a fairy ring, the faraway tree or Victoria Plums house.

That’s literally all I have. After 5 days of pushing, trying to get imaginary me to walk on, see what’s beyond the curve ahead, touch the smooth bark of the trees which are just out of my reach, nothing! My imagination has NEVER played ball in this kind of situation. If I push too hard the path turns into a rollercoaster, brightly coloured and twisting (to the left) with the scenery around me moving so fast I can barely focus. It appears to be a throwback from a game I had as a kid, I think it may have been called Theme Park? Push beyond that and it’s like a scene from Roger Rabbits Toon Town. The pathway seems to flick in and out of focus, almost like one of those old zoopraxiscope’s, it’s just out of shot. You know that scene in The Ring where they realise there’s more to the tape, and have to kind of drag the extra footage into focus? Like that. Never thought I would willingly reference that film!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the snap shot of my path. Perhaps one day I’ll find out what’s beyond the bend in the road.

I’m sure Katy and Fiona did a far better job than I, so do be sure to check their blogs out too!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

3 responses »

  1. Perhaps, your path isn’t meant to be walked just yet…perhaps you’re supposed to get on a rollercoaster at the end and move so fast you miss the world around you, just for a little while. Maybe your path is doing exactly what it’s supposed to do, in your imagination. It doesn’t have to be realistic after all.

    Nicely done! It sounds like you’re a little unhappy about it, but I think it’s great!

    Reply
    • It feels like the woodland from The Magicians Nephew. It’s as though everything about this reminded me of something from a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? Even that is a film quote 😛 Media has stolen my imagination and holds it at ransom. I need an adventure.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Day 36 – Do not go where the path may lead « twitterblogathon

Leave a Reply

