RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 37 – Storybook sentences

Today Miss Peguliar asked Miss Katy (:P) and I to pick ten books at random, open them at ten random pages and choose ten random sentences. So, bravely I climbed the ladder to the attic, found a box marked books and found…eight books. Hmm. Ok so there were more than 8, but I wanted 10 different authors. Downsides of having things in several attics around the place!! However when you add those eight to the one I got out of the library today which I haven’t even opened yet and one from the bookshelf, we have our ten.

Ready?

I’m a bit nervous, haha!

The chosen ten are:

  1. Just a Little Run Around the World – Rosie Swale Pope
  2. Lustrum – Robert Harris
  3. The Long Winter – Laura Ingalls Wilder
  4. The Tin Princess – Philip Pullman
  5. Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason – Helen Fielding
  6. A Respectable Trade – Philippa Gregory
  7. Eclipse – Stephanie Meyer
  8. Notes from a Small Island – Bill Bryson
  9. A Game of Thrones – George R.R.Martin
  10. The Kingfisher Book of Childrens Poetry

And the sentences thrown up by the hands of fate? Here goes nothing…

The last river I have to cross is especially dangerous and flooded. But Flaccus, who was a soldier of the old school, having seen service under Isauricus, said immediately, ‘What rubbish! I don’t know what army you served in, but it should be easy enough”. Mr Foster did not know how to ride. They both stopped. Oh no. He thought of Siko, and his quick smile and his impertinence. As if I needed – or even had room for – one more thing to worry about. I sat for a long time on a stone, riveted with wonder and admiration. The Lord Commander did not seem amused. And all the parrot says is “Who’s a-pretty-boy-then?”.

Does that kind of seem to work, or is it just me? Haha! I enjoyed this one Peg, thanks!!

 

 

 

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 37 – Tell me a story « twitterblogathon

  2. It works! I love how you can take sentences from different books and, depending on the sentences, it can make almost perfect sense. I love the final sentence for this one especially, haha.

    Quite a varied selection of books there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

