RSS Feed

Blogathon Day 45 – We are family, hey hey!

So today Katy asked to hear about our families, who we are, how many of us there are, if we get on etc. Well Katy honey, I’m gonna save you a headache on this one! At times my family have been described as ‘better than Eastenders’, even partners who have been ‘in the family’ over 10 years have trouble keeping track of everyone, let alone who’s talking to who. Over the years I’ve made my peace with my motley crew and their feuds, for the most part I love them all for who they are and can forgive them not loving each other. I think life has taught me that families are all the same, and my lot are no more a dysfunctional bunch of misfits than any others. Every family has a black sheep, or ‘we don’t talk to them’ branch. Tis just part of being human!

Family quarrels are bitter things. They don’t go by any rules. They’re not like aches or wounds; they’re more like splits in the skin that won’t heal because there’s not enough material. ~F. Scott Fitzgerald

So, lovely Katy, I hope you will let me make up for a lack of detail (which with my lot mostly being very private would have gotten me in trouble) with this picture…

20111201-205648.jpg

It’s my family tree!! I tried to make it as simple as possible, which means not everyone is included. For example there’s my Great Grandma, Ethel Speakman, who lived till she was 100, just a few years ago! A couple of amazing people in my Uncle Sid and Auntie Mima (Violets brother and sister in law) I also couldn’t work out how to include. They used to own a farm which was basically my dads sanctuary as a kid. Mimas is still sanctuary for both of us every now and again really, she’s definitely the smallest and loveliest person I have ever been fortunate enough to meet.

20111201-211057.jpg

The only other photo I have to hand is of this guy…

20111201-210600.jpg

Funny that Katy should set this theme the day after mum I stayed up till midnight looking at photos from the 1930’s! That’s my Great Great Grandad, what an awesome tash huh? Mum is currently tracking her family tree, she’s gone as far back as 1700! Apparently my cousins on my Fathers side have done a lot of work on theirs too. I can’t wait to see!

Katy I know this isn’t exactly what you wanted, but I hope it was interesting anyway, I enjoyed writing it! 🙂

(P.S for the astute of you who noticed, yes my parents names are Sue and Huw…probably for the best that I’m not Katy Lou hey!!)

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 45 – It’s a family affair « twitterblogathon

  2. I love the little owl in your family tree, hehe.

    Also, we don’t really have people we don’t talk to in our family, I don’t know why, it’s just never happened.

    Hahaha, Sue, Huw and Katy Lou…all you need now is the surname of Who. Katy Lou Who. /TheGrinch

    Reply
  3. HAHA I love the owl too 😀 That is a proper family tree 😀

    There’s no one in our family who doesn’t speak to each other either, we’re one of those families that will whinge and whinge about everyone else but smile sweetly to their faces.

    That is also some mighty tash, and mighty looking fellow! He looks like a crazy inventer, or someone who is very important with a slightly out there alternative, he’s awesome 😀

    Reply
  4. Oh really? Just mine then 😦 as I was making my peace with it too. Seriously, no random branch of cousins? Black sheep of the family from years gone by? Sometimes it seems like my whole family hate each other, it’s super fun. Not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

