RSS Feed

Day 5 – If you want the rainbow, you’ve got to put up with the rain

Eee-by-gum! ‘Ello! It’s day 5 of our Alphathon, which brings us to our second vowel…E.

The options are:

Katy S: Edible Extravaganza – What’s your favourite food thing to make?
Peg: Extreme Sports – do you like doing any? If not, what would you like to do?
Katy P: Ever followed a rainbow?

I love rainbows, they make me smile. I often stop to take photos of them; to me they are beautiful and awe inspiring yet something we see often enough to be normal. When I suggested this theme my ideas were two-fold; a story of physically following a rainbow, or one about chasing a dream with ever changing goal posts. It’s a bit of a metaphor for life really, putting up with a storm for the beauty of the goal.  There are lots of situations in life where it’s all to easy to expect roses and forget about thorns, yet so many phrases to remind us; with the sweet comes the sour, take the rough with the smooth, if you want the rainbow you’ve got to put up with the rain. Maybe it seems like a negative outlook on life to always be expecting the next rut in the road, I don’t mean it like that; more, enjoy the view and if you hit a rut don’t let it spoil your day!

Have you ever chased a rainbow? I did once, with my dad. I remember telling him about the pot of gold at the end (don’t you love how when you were a kid all stories were new, so you told them to people, never once thinking they’d already know!). My dad’s just crazy enough to do things to make his little girl smile; including driving miles out of the way chasing a rainbow he knew was uncatchable. Maybe some parents would have explained that due to a rainbow being made out of light and water, it’s in fact only visible from certain angles and is impossible to catch. Not my daddy though, he’s a star!

As for metaphorically, I’m always chasing rainbows, sometimes I even catch them…as it’s possible to do with a figure of speech…sometimes I get pretty close, others I get distracted by shiny things along the way. Life is a long old road, enjoy the journey as much as the stay and every now and again allow yourself to soak in the beauty and chase a rainbow.

‘If I could catch a rainbow, I would do it, just for you,
And, share with you, its beauty, on the days you’re feeling blue’. Sandra Lewis Pringle

 Scores after day 4:

Katy S: 4 Katy P: 6 Peg: 3

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

3 responses »

  1. Wow, your photos are amazing! I love the 4th one, it’s so clear!!

    Rainbows are soooo pretty, it’s like nature on drugs. They’re brilliant, free and legal! The best ones I’ve seen are always in Scotland – I think being in the middle makes them easier to see, simple because there’s *stuff* less around.

    That’s a lovely story about your dad taking you to chase a rainbow too, what lovely memories!

    Reply
  2. Lovely theme and lovely blog! That’s so lovely of your dad to help you chase a rainbow.

    I used to think they were round, I think someone once told me they were, that we just see the part of the rainbow above ground…maybe I was being gullible, haha.

    It’s weird really, it’s like, you know in your last blog talking about the fantasy world and if that was real and this reality of ours wasn’t…but rainbows are almost something in between. They’re not physically real in our world, maybe they’re just a glimpse of a world we never get to see.

    Reply
    • Haha yeah he was pretty cool with stuff like that. I wonder if he’d have been like it if he was there all the time, or if he was more inclined because being with the army he was away a lot, I dunno. I love what you said about rainbows, such a nice way to think about them…them being circular is pretty cool too. I like the scene in Fantasia, where the rainbow goddess comes out after the storm and paints the sky, it’s about 18/19 minutes in here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcgxWmQQz1w 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

