RSS Feed

Day 6 – Favourites are just too tricky!

Todays topics:

Katy S: Favourite Holiday
Katy P: Fill in the blanks
Peg: Food – favourite food: starter, main, dessert, snack.

I have trouble with favorites. I’m getting better at it, but for the most part I chop and change depending on mood, company and availability. For this reason rather than tell you about my favourite type of starter, main, dessert and snack I thought I would share with you one of my fave things to do which involves all of these.

A few years ago, in Cardiff, my boyfriend at the time and I decided to go out for dinner before I headed back to Bristolia. The trouble was we couldn’t decide where to go; I had a craving for a Godfather (an amazing pudding from Bella Italia) but neither of us were in the mood for an Italian main…dilemma! The best thing to do in this situation? Go for a drink while you decide! After a pot of tea (bet that’s not the kind of drink you were expecting was it) in The Yard (I think) we headed out to a restaurant (annoyingly I can’t remember it) and had our meal. When the waiter approached us with the dessert menu we dutifully looked it over, but nothing was quite as good as nutty fudge brownies, vanilla and honeycomb ice cream, chocolate sauce, fresh cream, chocolate popping candy, dark chocolate sprinkles and a wafer curl…how could you compete?! So, we paid our bill and wandered off into the Cardiff night before deciding, sod it, who says you can’t go somewhere just for pudding?! Let us go to Bella Italia and have ourselves a Godfather!!

After that night, this kind of became a thing for us, we would have a starter, main and dessert in three different places and then go somewhere for a drink (not always tea) afterwards.Β Most places are fine just serving you a starter or dessert if you ask them when you go in, I’ve never had an issue doing it and it’s a lovely way of breaking up the evening, sampling a few different cuisines and generally making going out for dinner a bit more fun and interesting. I’m sure it’s not an original idea, I’m sure we’re not the only ones to have done it, but if you haven’t tried it I reccommend giving it a go!

Scores will be updated when dear Peg is up to date πŸ™‚

P.S. Tomorrow is Penguin Awareness Day, so don black and white clothing, tell penguin jokes and pick up a pick up a penguin bar for a mid morning snack!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

6 responses »

  1. Oooh, that is sooo awesome…now it makes me want to do that for my birthday. Hmm. Do we do it on Sunday or Monday (my actual birthday)? Haha.

    Anywho, that’s lovely, such a great idea really.

    Reply
  2. Tis a fun thing to do really, let me know if you do do it! After reading the twitdoc Katy did I thought your birthday was today, but obv we don’t do weekends…duh! Confused myself royally!!!

    Reply
  3. Most awesome idea EVER! Blates gonna do this with the gay husband πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ *starts planning restaurant tour…*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

