RSS Feed

Day 23 – Who? What? When? Why? Where did the Alphathon go?

I’m not sure what’s going on alphathonwise at the moment. I know we were not blogging last week as Katy was off work and planning to be very busy…then it all went a bit quiet! So I thought I’d kick start it today and see what the other two do!

So, day 23 and the letter W! Our options were:

Katy S – Where you at? How are your to-do-lists for life coming on?
Katy P – Who inspires you?
Fiona – Words – what are your favourite words? Both in English and in any other languages.

Katy to be truthful I have never had a ‘to do list’ like others do, or at least no discernable timeline (you know, degree, job, mortgage, house, husband…in whatever order that should be in). The only think I have ever really had on my list was travel, and we all know where I am with that! As for inspiration, I have NO inkling! Actually that’s not true, I have a vast list of people who inspire me, but not in the way you’d anticipate. Most of list comprises of ‘for the love of God don’t do what they did! which wouldn’t make the most stimulating blog.

So, words it is!

We were chattering about this at lunch the other day. Some folks understood instantaneously how you can take more of a fondness to some words than others. Others were of the attitude that a word is a word, how can you ‘like it’ more than another? I am in the former group. Some words sit better on the tongue, others have negative undertones which make them disagreeable (like moist…ugh!). I’ve already shared some of my favourite Welsh words, so today I’ll stick to English, which I quite like as a language really; we are spoiled for choice with several words for everything. For example are you sat on a chair right now? Or maybe a seat? Is it a couch or a sofa? Then we have words which seem too ostentatiouly flamboyant for their own good, like these

Have you ever read ‘The Chaos’ by Dr. Gerard Nolst Trenité? I blogged about it once. It’s a brilliant poem illustrating the English language and just how complex it is. If you have time I suggest you have a read.

Yet, for all its complexity and numerous linguistic synonyms, English is not all encompassing. Here are some words I believe have been omitted from our language;

Esprit de l’escalier (French)Literally translated as “The spirit of the staircase”, which refers to all the things you realise you should have said after a heated conversation has ended
Wabi-Sabi (Japanese) – Basically means “a way of living that focuses on finding beauty within the imperfections of life and accepting peacefully the natural cycle of growth and decay.”
Hyggelig (Danish) – Literally translated would rely on your ability to word that feeling that comes from sitting in your cosiest place with your best friends and favourite food or beverage. It’s like cosy, but so much more!
Pena Ajena (Spanish) – With the Bristish love of cringe worthy situations we should definitely adopt this word! It describes how embarrassing it feels to watch someone else be humiliated.
Tartle (Scottish) – To hesitate while introducing someone due to having forgotten his/her name
Iktsuarpok (Inuit) – To go outside to check if anyone is coming

There are more, but I can’t find it on Pinterest (too many pins!).

This isn’t really relevant to my ‘favourite words’ but this was one of my favourite poems growing up:

The Word Party

(Richard Edwards)

Loving words clutch crimson roses,
Rude words sniff and pick their noses,
Sly words come dressed up as foxes,
Short words stand on cardboard boxes,
Common words tell jokes and gabble,
Complicated words play Scrabble,
Swear words stamp around and shout,
Hard words stare each other out,
Foreign words look lost and shrug,
Careless words trip on the rug,
Long words slouch with stooping shoulders,
Code words carry secret folders,
Silly words flick rubber bands,
Hyphenated words hold hands,
Strong words show off, bending metal,
Sweet words call each other ‘petal’,
Small words yawn and suck their thumbs,
Till at last the morning comes.
Kind words give out farewell posies.
Snap! The dictionary closes.

Have you heard of words we don’t have in English that you particularly like? Or are there any English words you’re particularly partial too, or dislike intently? You are only limited by your own vocabulary…come on readers, teach me something!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

2 responses »

  1. On of my favourite is a Welshie on you’ve blogged about being… Cwtch. To be it is so much more than just a hug, I don’t know why, maybe because of the people who have used it in my life, maybe because when I have cwtch it is just that little but more awesome than a hug, but I love it!

    I have favourite words, I have words I detest (moist definitely being one of them… It’s always the ice breaker if there is a silence at the dinner table when friends are over. Someone, normally the same person, will whisper “moist” much to everyone’s disgust/hilarity!), I have words that I am sad no one uses, I have words people use too much and I have words that make me angry because they are mis spelt or mis pronounced!

    I love it, however, when someone uses a word I have heard of, but never really seen/read/heard used in a sentence before. Someone used cumbersome in a message the other day, and I used cataclysmic, they made me just a little bit happier!!!

    Reply
    • I completely know what you mean! On the way down from the tower today R2 described the stairs as ‘gnarly’…what a wonderful world…I love the way it feels on my tongue, gnnnaaaaarly! I’ve heard it used to describe trees before, but not recently, and never stone but honestly, those stairs were gnarly, it was brilliant!

      When I was younger I always said my kids would have ‘squdges’ like on Hook, but I watched it this week and realised I like ‘cwtch’ better, it’s just such a good word for what it is, and it means more to me than ‘squdge’, so that was pretty cool!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

