RSS Feed

Bloggin’ from a land down under!

Hello from Sydney! Or should that be g’day? Aaah stereotypes, gotta love em!

So the flight was nowhere near as bad as I was expecting. I left New York just after 7pm; Three meals, four movies, two days and lots of sleep later I was in Australia. Phew! Firstly though, what does Quantas have against stuff from the 90’s?

20120328-172709.jpg

This time my inflight companions were Mark, a pastor from just north of Sydney, and a 6 month old baby who had everyone transfixed; she was so smiley!! Mark was sat by me and the baby (with her mum I might add, not just flying solo) across the aisle which explains why I don’t know her name. He was a really interesting guy actually! We had an extremely in-depth conversation about ‘types of people’ and how balances work in people, relationships and teams. Pretty deep stuff considering the hour, whichever timezones you looked at.

Midway across the Pacific, somewhere between The Help and My Week With Marilyn I looked out of the window to be greeted with the most amazing sight. I have never seen so many stars. We were in the middle of the ocean, with no land for miles and no lights anywhere to obstruct the view. It was incredible. But, whether because I could only see the tiny patch outside my window, or because I’d crossed Ito the southern hemisphere, I didn’t recognise a single constellation and for the first time in a long time I got really homesick. But then I realised I’d only been away from home a fortnight and being homesick was ridiculous, soon snapped out of it!

The plane touched down in Sydney at 8:30am, 22:30 UK time or 17:30 in New York…wow my body is confuuuuuused.

20120328-213436.jpg

Less than an hour later, after my first southern hemisphere sunrise, I was at Stephs, journey complete! Have any of you ever felt dizzy after a long haul flight? I feel more like I just got off a boat rather than a plane, and it’s been over 12 hours.

I was proper mega sleepy, so I forced myself to head out into the city and explore (despite the rain) to stave off jetlag inducing sleep. On my walk I think I realised why I only got excited about the Golden Gate Bridge seconds before I saw it. Cities are quite samey, for the most part you could be on any street in any city, in any country in the world, until you see something you know well but have never seen yourself. Today it was the turn of the Sydney Opera House. I walked down this street and suddenly, unexpectedly there it was! It literally made me burst into laughter.

20120328-214911.jpg

It seemed a lot less white than I was expecting, but it’s a lot bigger! I met two girls by the SH bridge and ended up spending the rest of the afternoon with them. Still deciding on the whole ‘climbing the bridge’ thing, has anyone done it? Anyway, we walked through the Botanical Gardens which is home to loads of exotic birds. Well, exotic to me anyway! I tried and tried to get a good photo but in the end this is the only close up I got!

20120328-215621.jpg

And then there was this guy…just you know, hanging out, being a parrot!

20120328-215717.jpg

Steph and Luke were due back at the flight at 5:30 so I headed back over and am still there, having had yummy Chinese take away for tea. We’ve watched some Friends and Britains Got Talent auditions, it’s like old times. Set myself the challenge of staying awake till 10pm, or 11 if possible, to try and get used to the timezone change! It’s gone 10 so I’m doing well!

No idea what I’m gonna do tomorrow, so you’ll have to wait and see!

Leave a Reply

