RSS Feed

P Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney

G’day! Day 4 in the land down under and Sydney. I’m slowly learning not to trust any weather forecasts, rain has been predicted every day so far creating a very cross Katy, but after a few grey clouds it’s been gorgeous every day!

On day 2 to be honest I pretty much did exactly what I did on day 1, only in the sun! Starting with the Opera House

20120331-215616.jpg

And of course the famous bridge

20120331-155850.jpg

And from there I met Denise, a girl from Switzerland who has been travelling round New Zealand and Australia for two months. We spent the rest of the day wandering round the Botanical Gardens and visiting some of Sydney’s shops.

20120331-213917.jpg

Eventually we reached Paddys market, it was Denise’s last day in Australia so she was doing all her souvenirs shopping. We saw some raaaandom stuff

20120331-213833.jpg

I also tried some really odd iced tea, which had these little jelly balls in it. I have NO idea what they were supposed to be but the straw was thick enough for them so every now and again you got jelly with your drink. Has anyone tried it? It’s strange. Tasted good but I’m not sure I’d have it again.

That evening I cooked then Steph and I watched The Kings Speech, nice and chilled out.

On Friday the weather was again threatening to be awful but turned out to be beautiful. In the morning I headed out to book some tours and pick up some stuff Denise very kindly left me at the YHA.

That afternoon I headed over to Manly on the ferry. It took about half an hour and offered some spectacular views of the harbour

20120331-215535.jpg

On the ferry I met Scott, an ex RAF man from the States. Scott had been travelling for a couple of months through New Zealand and Australia and had pretty much only taken the ferry to take photos. In the end though Manly was too nice to leave straight away so we went for a walk and something to eat.

20120331-220154.jpg

I pretty much had to run to Stephs flat to get ready to prepare for an engagement party that evening after I got off the ferry. In less than an hour I’d managed to get to Stephs, shower, change and back down to the harbour to meet her and Luke. Skills! The party was at a bar in The Rocks called The Argyle; a really cool place with a chilled out vibe. Steph and Lukes friends were really nice too, twas fun!

20120331-220554.jpg

We didn’t have as much fun as some people however…

20120331-220636.jpg

So that brings us to today! The weather was beautiful so the three of us strolled down to The Rocks market for a wander round. Stephs flatmate Merri had suggested we climb the bridge pylon (costs $10 rather than the $200 to climb the actual bridge!) so that was fun!

20120331-221202.jpg

Steph wasn’t feeling so well today so I spent the rest of the afternoon in the park with my book. Then this evening Merri invited me out to a BBQ in Zetland. It was a genuine aussie BBQ! The park had an outdoor grill and seats and stuff and the guys had set up a tightrope type thing which was tonnes of fun (I have really bad balance!). Then up to the flat which had a really great view of the city. One of the girls had made a dessert thing, pie base, caramel, banana and then coffee cream!!! Such a random combo, I wasn’t a fan, have to say. The punch was good though, except I had half a lime in my glass at one point, Sandep had great chopping skills!

Back at Stephs now, chilling with Friends just like old times. Tomorrow the five of us are off to Bondi Beach, woohoo!

Leave a Reply

