RSS Feed

People

Posted on

People fascinate me. I love to talk to new ones, catch up with old ones and generally spend time getting to know as many as I can. Every person comes with a different past, story, nature and personality; some I get along with, some I don’t, but each interaction teaches me something. Perhaps about myself, maybe about that particular person or about people in general, but for better or worse the experience is enriching.

I think my favourite thing about people is passion. When someone shows enthusiasm and a love of something I cannot help but get caught up in it. This really has surprised me sometimes, before Christmas for example I talked for over an hour with a physicist. I hated physics in school, SO dull, but this guy loved it, and his passion for the subject sparked an interest in me. When a passion is shared it can lead to magic, conversations which last into the night, shared hopes, dreams and projects. If you meet someone who’s enthusiasm conflicts with your own it can lead to debates, sometimes to arguments. Passion is the instigator behind both art and war. It makes you attractive, it makes you interesting; it’s my favourite thing.

Then the place where people let themselves down? Fear. Sometimes fear can be a good thing, the same way that passion can be bad. Fear stops you going too close to the cliff edge, protects you from harm, keeps you safe, but at the same time it limits you. People become afraid to try, afraid of failure, afraid of success, afraid they’ll get hurt. Don’t get me wrong, I’m scared of things. I’m not a big fan of heights for example, don’t particularly like spiders and am a sucker for fear of missing out (fomo), I understand it’s human nature, but sometimes I wish we would all be braver. Fear leads to walls, to shutting things out, keeping them at arms length. Fear is what makes a person appear one way and then act another, it changes you, it hurts others.

I think my biggest fear is one of regret, which is why I always have to try. I want to push the boundaries, take the risks and see where they take me. I’m not sure whether this this the type of fear which is good or bad, though the only time it seems to backfire is when someone else stands in the way of my goal, moves the posts or changes the game entirely.

People, they fascinate me. They are both the best and worst thing in each and every day.

So begins the daily coaster. To be continued….

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

One response »

  1. Loving the start of the daily coaster, legitimately didn’t realise you were doing a coaster until I reached the end. You wrote it that well.

    Interesting that you chose passion and fear because I think they’re almost polar opposites…you’re either passionate or you’re scared to be passionate and that’s naturally not going to help with many things. I do believe your fomo is one of the ‘better’ fears to have because it means you do things, regardless. Instead of the fear of doing which I believe to be worse.

    People really are fascinating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

