RSS Feed

Only boring people get bored.

This is a sentence which has often haunted me…who wants to be boring, right? Or bored for that matter, all sounds rather dull.

So a few weeks ago, on a lazy, rainy Sunday before payday I decided that if only boring people get bored then obviously all the others do something about it. Previously I’ve come up with ideas like the blogathon (with two wacky friends to make it happen!), started scrapbooks, sewing projects or at particularly desperate times tidied my house…what ideas were left? While scrolling through Instagram it hit me that could be the perfect platform for a ‘blogathon’ style project. Why not ask my followers if they’d like to try something a little different, a challenge where we all edit the same photo and see how diverse and creative IGers can be!

I uploaded the challenge and went to make a cuppa while I waited for 3 others to sign up. I thought 4 would be a good number as I could collage 4 edits together and display all the edits at once. By the time I got back 11 people had commented!! How cool!! After about an hour of working out emails and the like we all had the image, good to go!

A few hours later the results were in! Check out what they did…

20121011-100336.jpg

20121011-100314.jpg

20121011-100247.jpg

Pretty amazing hey? To show what 12 strangers could do with the same material. Since the first challenge people have got a lot braver and some of the edits have just been out of this world! Have barely recognised the original photo at times!!

The challenge has run almost every day and now has around 70 players. I post a challenge most days and the first 12 people to comment are emailed a photo to edit. A deadline is set, they repost their pictures and I collage them together and upload them on the @teameditIG page!

I’ve really been amazed at how diverse and creative the players are, and how encouraging and lovely they have been to myself and other players! I’ve had so much fun preparing the challenges, interacting with the players and above all seeing the edits. I think I, and others have learned a lot about apps, tricks, tips and at times even photoshop!!

I’d like to say a huge thank you to everyone who’s taken part or enjoyed @teameditig! And if you have instagram, like editing photos or just fancy a new challenge I’d like to invite you to play! Just follow @teameditig on instagram and look out for the challenges for what to do next!

Here are some of my favourites…

20121011-105711.jpg

20121011-105734.jpg

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

2 responses »

  1. Bravo Katy!
    It is a great idea, thanks for organising it all. And yes, always really interesting to see what creative response insta’peeps come up with!
    πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Reply
  2. Katy I love your blog and I have had so much fun being part of the teamedit challenges. Not only have I been able to get creative with a picture but I have made new Instagram friends along the way. Great job xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

