RSS Feed

Dictothon day 3: Pulse

Yesterday my friend Iain selected number 3…which means Peg and I were blogging our thoughts on the word ‘pulse’.

Now honestly my first thought was ‘pulse? I suppose I wouldn’t be thinking without one?!’ and then work got in the way of my blogging thoughts (how rude!) and that was the end of that.

Since then, it occurred to me there is more than one type of pulse. There are seeds, for example, which are known as ‘pulses’; dry beans like pinto beans, kidney beans and navy beans; dry peas; lentils; and others are all part of the pulse family.

The English language is odd isn’t it…is it just us who confuses people with pulse, and pulses? Or spell and spell? Bow and Bow, Down and Down, Wave and Wave? Or even those which are phonetically the same though spelled differently, like mail and male, wound around the wound etc etc. Even as a native speaker I find our language confusing sometimes…have you read ‘The Chaos’? I posted it once, that’s enough to make anyone’s head spin.

So yes pulse, to me I suppose it means life. It’s always there, and if it’s not, then neither are you. If it quickens I’m either nervous, or excited…if it slows I’m probably asleep! It’s one of those lovely background things, like breath and grass and mum’s…they’re always there, you know you can count on them, and until they’re absent you don’t notice that you’d miss them.

This has been a very higgildy blog, mainly coz it’s hometime and I wanted to post before I leave. So I shall end it there, except to say well done to Obamum who managed to use Oulitic at work today…very proud of you! Well done!!

Today’s word is ‘bushel’ and we’ll be story telling again, so expect that tomorrow as I’m behind already, oh dear!!

Adieu!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

Leave a Reply

