RSS Feed

2013: The halfway point

Posted on

“Success  consists of going from failure to failure without loss of  enthusiasm.”
Winston  Churchill

The story so far….

  • 9 Bucket list items (at least 1 more planned)
  • 5 weekends at home
  • 23 weekends away
  • 5 countries visited
  • 2 continents visited

‘Can you believe we’re over halfway through the year?’ ‘I know!! How did that happen?!’ seems to be a conversation I’m hearing a lot recently. I still can’t quite grasp the concept of time and how it stretches and springs and never seems to pass in a uniform fashion, but having settled down to reflecting on the first half of 2013 it occurred to me that it may be the best year of my life so far… *touch wood I don’t jinx it!*

This time in 2012 I was heading back from Thailand wondering what on earth was going to happen next; having planned my great adventure for so long I struggled to think about option b when it didn’t work out, but I was determined to make the most of being home and to do all the things I’d previously not done. The plan was to generally live life in the here and now as much as possible, which meant making a new year’s resolution to say ‘yes’, acting first and thinking later and basically getting things done!

How’s that gone? Pretty well actually!

January was a bucket list whirlwind with visits to Hogwarts, Gallifrey and a myriad (I love that word) of other adventures. Since then I’ve attended birthday parties, hen do’s and weddings I’d otherwise have missed by being abroad. I’ve made new friends, called a new city home and taken holidays to places I’ve wanted to see for years; from world wonders to English houses and European capitals. I’ve caught up with travel buddies, revisited Glastonbury and landed a job I love in the area I want to gain experience in. I’ve climbed a mountain (several actually!), swum in a river and been on spontaneous weekends away. I’ve discovered British history with an American, stepped foot inside an Oxford college, photographed weddings, walked a mile to go on a single fairground ride for the hell of it and jumped on a plane to Switzerland simply to congratulate good friends on their engagement (and then subsequently for the wedding and baby shower too!).  For the first time in my life I’m financially stable (even contemplating (JUST contemplating) getting on the housing ladder) and everything just feels a bit, well, sorted!

I feel like fear of never topping last year, added to my new found love and respect for my home country and appreciation for friends and family has created a Katy who lives for the moment, seizes opportunities when they come along and is far more fun and fancy free as a result.

So, if you’re reading this I hope that maybe, just maybe you’re feeling a little bit inspired. Inspired to take risks, inspired to enjoy life. Not everything will go to plan, it didn’t for me, but there is opportunity in failure. Pick yourself up, lift that chin and move on; you never know what you’ll achieve once the dust settles unless you try!

image

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

2 responses »

  1. Wow, laying it all out there like that, it all really sounds so bloody marvellous. You’ve got it nailed! (Also, don’t get on the housing ladder, I don’t think it’s for you – unless it’s a house that moves. 😉 )

    You are inspiring, now can you pass some of the motivation and luck my way and I’ll get on with some of your risk taking. 😉

    (Though I have taken a couple recently, one is happening and the other is a maybe/depending.)

    I feel like you need wings, so that you can just fly back and forth across country and do what you will. I wonder if anyone would like to donate a private jet to your cause?!

    Reply
  2. My amazing girl…I’m sure there is plenty more where that came from and I feel proud to have been with you on a couple of those trips xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

