RSS Feed

Looking back

Over my shoulder…dum de de, de de dum dum dum…just me?Do you ever look back sometimes and think ‘wow, I really did all that?!’ I’m not sure we do it enough. Life is such a winding and varied road that sometimes you really do need to pause for a minute and take stock of everything that’s happened, the things you’ve achieved, places you’ve seen, people you’ve met…I remember reading a post once about how much can change in a year, and it’s so true. Look back to February 2015, are there people there who aren’t here now? Are there people here you didn’t know then? The world around us is forever shifting and changing, sometimes for the better, sometimes not so much, but it’s hard to get too bogged down in the present when the future is within touching distance and anything can happen. 

Attempting some Instagram challenges recently has encouraged lots of revisiting old photo albums and computer folders in search of suitable snaps. Last year I visited 9 counties; 5 of which I had never set foot on before. I met many amazing and unique people, went on new adventures, tried some crazy (and often delicious) foods, saw incredible sights ranging from a hundred thousand bats leaving a Cambodian cave, to the old cars of Havana. I spent time with wonderful people, met some crazy new friends and said goodbye to some old ones. I left a job, gained a job, left that one and gained another. There were some exhilarating highs and some severely crashing lows, but I think for the most part everything has worked out for the best. So far 2016 has been the year of smiles, of new challenges, looking forward and a life without too much stress. I know I was not the only one who found 2015 a tough pill to swallow, but I hope that everyone who struggled through it has also found 2016 to be a kinder time. Try to take a moment this weekend to think about some of the good times, something you’re proud of, people you like to be with…I bet there’ll be more good memories hiding away there than you expect!

About LilMissKaty

Just a normal girl who likes to try new things, go on adventures, spend time with fun people and tell stories...which is how this blog came about really!

Leave a Reply

